KNS Media Group holds Correspondent’s Annual meet

Main emphasis laid on adopting modern digital mode of reporting

Kashmir Magazine

Javid Zarger
Srinagar: KNS Media group held it’s 18th Correspondent’s Annual Conference recently in the famous ski resort of Gulmarg in North Kashmir. This is the first time that the Annual meet of the group was held in any tourist resort. About 40 correspondents and Editors of the KNS family participated in the function at Golf Club. During the function many editors and reporters spoke at length about their experiences with the organization and the achievements the KNS and its affiliated concerns like The Kashmir Magazine etc have attained over the years.
The speakers while expressing satisfaction on the functioning of the group put forth many suggestions. One of the founder members of the group Javid Zarger recalled the earlier days when KNS was launched in 2000 and appreciated its Chief Editor and Managing Director of the group M. Aslam Bhat for steering the team to a remarkable success . Mr. Zarger recounted the hardships the team and its leaders have faced in the earlier days of the KNS.
One of the Senior most Correspondents Gh. Qadir Baidar ( Chrar e Shareef) expressed happiness for holding the meet at Gulmarg and said such outings was necessitated as the family has grown manifolds over the years. He shared his experience of working with KNS and suggested that off beat stories should also be carried in the daily bulletins.
Senior Reporter Tasaduq Rashid said that KNS has emerged as the premier News Agency in the State . He hailed the management for their efforts and contribution. Mr. Tasaduq hailed Editors for their hard work and said both Urdu and English desk editors were doing a remarkable job.
Desk Editor in English Section, Owais Gul also shared his experience on the desk . He also spoke about his dealings with the reporters while collecting inputs from them . Mr. Gul stressed for more investigative stories and asked reporters to work hard for the same.
Syed Aijaz Ahmad,Editor Urdu Desk while recounting his days as reporter in the KNS said that it was entirely a different experience now for being the editor in the same organization where he worked as reporter for nearly a decade. He stressed for a close bond between editors and reporters and said that understanding between the two was a must.
Mushtaq Ahmad who reports from Tangmarg expressed gratitude to the management for choosing Gulamrg for the event . He during his speech shared his experience with KNS and lauded the efforts of each member of the group.
Lateef Ahmad Bhat (Reporter from Pattan) suggested for re-starting the online news bulletins and said the KNS online bulletin had lakhs of viewership. He urged management to re-start the online bulletin .
The group's MD and founder M. Aslam Bhat while appreciating the role of editors, reporters and the other supporting staff laid emphasis on the quality reporting . He expressed gratitude to all editors, reporters and well-wishers who have been part of the family at various levels for their contributions in various capacities in the organization. He also hailed the team for switching over to the modern trend of digital reporting and informed that KNS has an online readership of more than Fourty Lakh across the globe. Mr. Bhat however, cautioned them against misuse of social media and said the use of the online platform for reporting should always be authentic and serious. The KNS Chief Editor also suggested his reporters not to fall pray of the digital fantasy and be always a responsible journalist while putting out any material on social media. During the course of interaction many reporters put forth their suggestions for the expansion of the network which the management agreed to work upon.
Earlier the Programme began with the recitation of Holly Quran by Zulfikar Ahmad followed by a Naat by Irfan Ahmad. The programme was conducted and moderated by Kausar Salaam.
Other who attended the meet include Shabir Malik, Javid Zargar, Kausar Salaam, Ishtiyaq Kar, Ghulam Qadir Baidar, Mohammad Lateef Bhat, Mushtaq Ahmad, Zahoor Indraabi, Fayaz Hamid, M R Ilahi, Rahi Nisar, Owais Gul, Irfan Ahmad, Syed Aijaz, Tassaduk Rashid, Iqbal Amin, Taseer Afzal, Manzoor Sheeri, Nadeem Khawaja, Suhail Naik, Shabir Hakak, Zulfikar Ahmad, Mir Tanveer, Bhat Shameem, Tariq Rather, Nasir Kheuhami, Mohammad Ashraf, Irfan Ahmad, Bhat Mubashir and Waseem Ramzan.